About Club

Delhi Daredevils

Delhi Daredevils as the brand and team embodies the exuberance, excitement and attitude unique to Delhi. It is vibrant, contrasting and irresistible. The purpose is to excite the cricketing world and inspire our fans to dare to succeed. It resonates the spirit of the city, which too believes in a never say-attitude and the hunger to succeed irrespective of the challenges. The driving principle and core values for the team are courage and brilliance; honesty and pride. This Delhi team believes in teamwork and mutual respect for their players and their fans. The new look Delhi Daredevils is enthusiastic, imaginative and successful. Honest in approach and keen to unleash the excitement and bring the experience closer to the fans. Fans, love for the game lifts their spirit from the stands to skies. Delhi Daredevils resides in every fan’s life. The renewed Delhi Daredevil aims and believes to soar together. Based in the national capital, Daredevils aim to lead not just on the cricket field, but also in aspects of social responsibility, connect with the fans and setting up a very high standard of integrity and self-respect. As part of our endeavour to spread the reach of the sport, Daredevils have also picked Raipur, the capital of Chattisgarh, as our second home.

New Logo

The new logo depicts a ‘Flying Kite.’ It is inspired by the art of kite flying, a celebrated pastime for the people of Delhi. The icon soars out of the team’s name and represents the union of the team, the fans and the city of Delhi. The new logo resonates the irresistible nature of the city and how the love for the game lifts the spirit of each and every fan. It also depicts how the team feeds off the energy of every individual talent and would look to play exciting cricket together in the new season of IPL7. The new icon is never static. Its directional shape suggests forward movement, energy, speed and accuracy, just like the flying kite.


Feroz Shah Kotla, Delhi

One of the oldest cricket venues in India, the Kotla has been staging cricket matches since 1883. And ever since it started hosting international matches with a Test between India and West Indies in 1948, the Kotla has been synonymous with landmark achievements. Over the years, Kotla has seen some of the most astounding individual feats being achieved at this famous venue.

Some of the most notable individual records that have been created at the Kotla include England opener Geoff Boycott surpassing West Indies Gary Sobers to become the highest run-getter in Test matches (1981-82); Sunil Gavaskar notching up his 29th Test century and equalling Don Bradman’s feat of 29 tons (1983-84); Anil Kumble taking a perfect ten in an innings against Pakistan in 1998-99; and Sachin Tendulkar surpassing Gavaskar’s tally of 34 Test centuries in 2005-06.

The trend has trickled down in the IPL as well, despite the Kotla pitch having earned a reputation of being a spinner-friendly track. While Amit Mishra became the first spinner in the history of IPL to pick five wickets in a match in May 2008, Chris Gayle’s unbeaten 128 off just 62 balls was then the second-highest individual score in IPL history.

Shaheed Veer Narayan International Cricket Stadium, Raipur

In an attempt to take top-quality cricket to the hinterland of India, the Delhi Daredevils adopted Raipur as its second home in 2013. The Delhi Daredevils played two of its home games at Raipur, the capital city of Chhattisgarh. The state of Chhattisgarh doesn’t have a Ranji Trophy team so far but it has an ultramodern facility on the outskirts of Raipur. And the facility received a major boost with the Daredevils’ decision to make it a second home. The icing on the cake was the Delhi Daredevils won both their matches in Raipur in IPL-6.


GMR Sports Pvt Ltd, which owns the Delhi Daredevils team, identifies itself very strongly with the amazing home city and wishes to contribute towards it becoming truly world-class.

Delhi Daredevils and UNICEF have launched the Dare to Care initiative on March 30, 2012. It is aimed at sensitizing people on the important role girls can play in transforming our society and on why education and protection can ensure that they can grow up and develop to their full potential.

Delhi Daredevils Captain Virender Sehwag says it is very important for us to protect girls in India. "We have to support them to give them strength so that they are in position to say no whenever needed. They should be raised to a position in the society that they can give their opinions in their own household. As many as 40 per cent girls in the 14 to 17 years age group are not in schools and 50 per cent girls are married before they are 18. I am really honoured to be part of this partnership between Delhi Daredevils and UNICEF," he says.

UNICEF India Representative Karin Hulshof says the motive behind this ‘Dare to Care’ initiative is to make sure that the adolescent girls in India remain in school. "Along with Delhi Daredevils, we will try to spread awareness in protecting these girls and help them to grow towards a better future. Through Delhi Daredevils we are looking forward to hearing millions of voices speaking out for girls in India. Through the loyal supporters of Delhi Daredevils we look to transform India,” she says.

GMR Sports Business Chairman Kiran K Grandhi says the core value of Delhi Daredevils is based on the responsibilities that we have towards society. "This initiative with UNICEF is our first step. For me, this is a perfect way to start our season and hope this partnership goes a long way. I would like to thank UNICEF and Karen for choosing us," he says.

GMR Sports Head (Marketing) Hemant Dua says the initiative is basically about spreading as much as awareness as we can through our franchise, our squad and our fans. "Some percentage from ticket and merchandise sales will go to ‘Dare To Care’ funds. We will also be putting up some Daredevils memorabilia for auction on our website and also on indiatimes.com and funds from that will also be used in this campaign," he says.

Delhi Daredevils Head Coach Eric Simons says sports is about competition between two teams and is also a way to celebrate life but this initiative is about competition in life. "What we plan to do with UNICEF is not limited to a stadium but what we are daring to do is about real life. We will do anything and everything to make a difference,” he says.

In the past, Delhi Daredevils partnered Delhi-based NGO Centre for Equality and Inclusion (CEQUIN) in its Make Delhi Safe for Women campaign. It included a series of television commercials. For example, Delhi Daredevils skipper Virendra Sehwag featured in a TVC that opens on the scene of a group of boys playing gully cricket, when a girl passes by. The batsman whistles at her and makes a lewd comment, embarrassing the girl. Sehwag steps in and asks the batsman to remove the 'Delhi Daredevil' jersey that he's wearing, the point being that only he who respects a woman is a true Daredevil.

Sehwag was used in the Public Service Messages to target young men and boys towards a mindset change through sensitisation and deconstruction of stereotype images. “Treat women with the respect they deserve and you will deserve to be called a Daredevil,” he said in the campaign as can be seen in the video that CEQUIN produced.


Daredevils has had wonderful support from its partners and sponsors. We are proud of our association with each one of them and are delighted to have them on board as part of the Delhi Daredevils family.

If you want to get in touch with our sponsorship team, please do not hesitate to e-mail Sujoy Ganguly (sujoy.ganguly@gmrgroup.in).

Principal Partners

IDEA Cellular is the 3rd largest mobile services operator in India with wireless revenue market share at 13.9% in Q1 FY2012. Idea has joined the select global operator's club, servicing over 100 million subscribers, as of September 2011.