Feroz Shah Kotla Stadium, Delhi

Ferozeshah Kotla Stadium

One of the oldest cricket venues in India, the Kotla has been staging cricket matches since 1883. And ever since it started hosting international matches with a Test between India and West Indies in 1948, the Kotla has been synonymous with landmark achievements. Over the years, Kotla has seen some of the most astounding individual feats being achieved at this famous venue.

Some of the most notable individual records that have been created at the Kotla include England opener Geoff Boycott surpassing West Indies Gary Sobers to become the highest run-getter in Test matches (1981-82); Sunil Gavaskar notching up his 29th Test century and equalling Don Bradman’s feat of 29 tons (1983-84); Anil Kumble taking a perfect ten in an innings against Pakistan in 1998-99; and Sachin Tendulkar surpassing Gavaskar’s tally of 34 Test centuries in 2005-06.

The trend has trickled down in the IPL as well, despite the Kotla pitch having earned a reputation of being a spinner-friendly track. While Amit Mishra became the first spinner in the history of IPL to pick five wickets in a match in May 2008, Chris Gayle’s unbeaten 128 off just 62 balls was then the second-highest individual score in IPL history.